The Sin That Didn’t Have to Be…

This is a true story.

Though, I’ll admit, the details are a little fuzzy.

Let’s say it was Collin (my middle child), allowing that it might have been his big sister, Cami. And let’s say it was a granola bar, though it could have been a cookie or cracker…

___

Once upon a time, I sent my kids to the kitchen to pick out their snack.  From the other room, I listened to the sounds of cupboards opening and packets crinkling, which would be strictly forbidden, without my permission.

But it was fine–because I knew they were hungry, and I actually told them to go find something to eat.

That’s why I was a little confused when I walked around the corner and Collin jumped about six feet, as if he’d been caught red-handed.

Then he hid his granola bar behind his back.

“What are you doing?”  I asked, perplexed.

My boy gave me the guiltiest look before saying, “Nuffing!”

“Well, what are you hiding behind you?” I tried.

And, again–Collin insisted.

“Nuffing.”

So, that’s the true story of the day my son got in trouble for doing what he only THOUGHT was a bad thing.

The moral I gave him was this one:

If you think something is wrong, and you do it anyway, then it’s wrong, even when it didn’t have to be.


“I the LORD search the heart and examine the mind, to reward each person according to their conduct, according to what their deeds deserve.” –Jeremiah 17:10

“I know and am convinced in the Lord Jesus that nothing is unclean in itself; but to him who thinks anything to be unclean, to him it is unclean.”  –Romans 14:14

25 thoughts on “The Sin That Didn’t Have to Be…

  1. zingtwing

    I am confused. But you did tell him he could.

    I think I am getting what you are saying Biblically (and actually, personally you are hitting home and I am feeling a tad bit convicted about something right now- and this is helpful, thank you: )

    But, I am confused because you gave permission prior to the unnecessary guilt.
    As I look at the Romans passage -should Collin still have not eaten it?
    Am I digging?

    And clearly, I am not asking for permission for anything -and I am convicted on a personal level,

    I guess his guilt is what is befuddling me.

    Is this thread a follow up or a spin off from another thread? LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. mrsmcmommy Post author

      I told him to go get a snack, so he was perfectly okay.

      But, he didn’t understand that he had permission. He thought he was getting away with something, and then he lied, to try and hide the guilt.

      When you do something that your conscience won’t allow, it’s wrong…even if another person does it (like his sister 😉 ) with confidence and freedom.

      There was nothing wrong with the granola bar, per-se. But the attitude of his heart was one of having to sneak and hide and lie. Clearly, he thought he didn’t have peace…but went ahead and did it anyway. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. mrsmcmommy Post author

      To answer your other question, it IS sort of tangentially related to the conversation about morality on my dad’s blog.

      There are many non-believers asking for a list of right and wrong–which is how many children approach the issue. (They’re very literal and black-and-white.)

      But I believe we’re mostly judged by the state of our heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. mrsmcmommy Post author

        Thanks. I’m a very lucky lady. (Grandparents, aunts/uncles…and my mom has a head on her shoulders, too.) Everywhere I look, there are intelligent people, holding each other accountable. Truly, I don’t deserve such a great community. ❤

        Like

    1. mrsmcmommy Post author

      My younger brother and I shared a room for awhile, and we got into all kinds of trouble when we were sent to bed.

      One time, we actually crawled down the hall and into the living room, to watch TV from UNDERNEATH THE COUCH that our mom was sitting on.

      If we reap what we sow, I’m in for it…

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. mrsmcmommy Post author

        That wasn’t an answer.
        If you’re going to be a jackass by suggesting I did something “wrong,” even as a joke, then tell me how I can do it right. Or go away.

        How old should a child be, when they learn how to properly pronounce the word “nothing?”

        My boy is three.

        Like

      2. mrsmcmommy Post author

        “…you hadn’t taught your son to say ‘nothing.'”

        I can assure you, I pronounce it correctly. How old should a child be, when they learn to properly pronounce the word “nothing?” At what point can we conclude (as you did) that the parent hasn’t taught it?

        Like

      3. mrsmcmommy Post author

        I’ll take that as, “I’m sorry, Amanda. I was just trying to get a rise out of you, because I can’t handle being ignored as everyone has–justifiably–been doing on your dad’s blog. I’ll work on being the type of person people want to talk with, instead of using them as pawns for my own amusement, as I distract myself from an otherwise-meaningless existence.”

        That was big of you, Ark. I appreciate the humility.

        Like

Leave a Reply

