[Black] Church, You Have Some Explaining to Do…

Church–we have some explaining to do.

But, of course, I’m not just talking about the Church as a whole.

I’m going to talk about racism.

Therefore, I need to divide the Church by color groups, and then lecture just a small category of the members.

I learned this technique from Phil Vischer, who announced this week that specifically White Christians need to explain the outcome of the recent election:

“…here we stand, white Christians, having just pushed a man into office who built his campaign on pledges to wall off and otherwise restrict the movements of brown people.”

Now, I’m not totally sure whether black conservatives also have some explaining to do?  (Blacks like this one and this one and all of these ? Do they need to explain themselves, too?)

But Phil helpfully wrote a follow-up piece, which included this statistic:

“When 90% of black evangelicals opposed a candidate whom 80% of white evangelicals supported, can we really say the body of Christ is colorblind?”

So, there you have it.  According to that carefully-worded sentence, Blacks and Whites didn’t vote exactly the same way in this election.

I mean–what else do you need to know?

Obviously, Black Christians need to explain why they failed to support a candidate which their White brothers and sisters saw as the best option.

Why did you vote against Conservative Supreme Court Justices?

Why did you vote AGAINST the white, working class that trusted Trump to save their jobs?

Ask yourself:

“How do I share the love of Jesus with a [white] neighbor, if I’m supporting their [lost income]? How do I share the love of Jesus with a [white] family if my fear prevents me from offering them help in the first place?…”

Feel free to disagree. But I’m worried that “we have created distrust for the church” by refusing to support the efforts to Make America Great Again.

Why don’t you want to make America great again, Black People?!?!?!?!

I guess what I’m trying to say is this:

“I’m concerned for the witness of the gospel. We need to explain to our [white] neighbors why our [lack of] support for Trump wasn’t a sign of our rejection of them. Because at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter what we think we look like to the [white, working class]… It matters what they see when they look at us.”

Make sure you explain yourself to a White person this Sunday!

2 thoughts on “[Black] Church, You Have Some Explaining to Do…

  1. Jay Johnson

    Wow. I suggest you take an intro sociology class. You should try to understand power structures and how our country favors white males. I personally feel as a black person I feel no need to explain to you anything. The history of our country explains it for me.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

