Where It Started, Part Three

Catch up with Parts One and Two. I talked about how very weird Americans are, when compared with the rest of the world. And I asked some scary questions about “What It All Means.”

Don’t all humans value the same, basic things? How can I trust my brain, if it’s affected by my culture so much? Do people in the rest of the world worry about these things, or is THAT part of my culture, too?!

What’s true? What’s “right?” What’s good?

These types of questions are being thrown in my face constantly, now that I’ve asked God to reveal my biases.  Considering how much I love to dissect issues, it’s amazing that I’ve relied on things “everyone knows” so many times in the past.  Turns out, as the article “We Are Not the World” makes quite clear, “common sense” doesn’t make it very far outside our own communities.

Others have very different, unspoken values.

Thus, as God has worked to strip away even my most basic prejudices, I’m looking at everything in a radical new way. From government and politics, to family structure, to church practices and the Bible. I’ve forced myself to re-examine issues I thought were settled long ago.

And, along the way, I’ve had the chance to confront many Scriptures which used to embarrass me.

What’s with all the polygamy in Scripture? Isn’t it a sin to have multiple wives? How could God order Israel to wipe out entire nations, even women and children? Did God forget to command all the early Christians to free their slaves, or does He not realize that all men are created equal? (Our Constitution says so! Duh!) And, by the way…um…”women should be silent in church?”

Yikes.

Yet, what if the problems we have with Scripture and the places it embarrasses us the most have more to do with our cultural values than with Absolute Right and Wrong?  What do we make of other cultures still existing, which allow for the practice of polygamy, slave ownership…unequal treatment of women?

We say these countries are “still developing.”  They haven’t reached our level of progress just yet.  But, my goodness, how arrogant that is! We consider our own practices “advanced,” while assuming all others need to learn from us?  C.S. Lewis calls this “chronological snobbery.” This is an excellent, short explanation of that silliness: “The Spirit of Our Age.”

****

Anyway…NOW you’re basically caught-up on the background for this blog.

Each of my future posts will relate back to the root questions: How much of what we value in the west truly is “better” than what others value? And how much is pure, WEIRD, American bias?

I’m pretty excited about this new concept, and I hope my old readers will be, too.  And, of course, I hope to pick up some new followers along the way…

Together, let’s peel back the layers of these Cultures at War.

11 thoughts on “Where It Started, Part Three

      1. mrsmcmommy Post author

        I realized, if God wanted to torture people, he wouldn’t have given us the capacity for love and the hunger for justice.

        The very fact that I’m able to define “benevolent” vs. “malevolent” means I’ve been programmed with some sort of standard.

        No one has given me a better explanation for how that happened, except that a good God gave me everything I need to find him.

        Like

  1. Arkenaten

    No one has given me a better explanation for how that happened, except that a good God gave me everything I need to find him.

    And this is the root of your delusion. It almost sounds as if it is bordering on psychosis.
    I am deadly serious – have you ever had any sort of discussion about this with a psychologist?

    Like

    Reply
      1. Arkenaten

        Odd that I never actually did a ”’background check” as I usually do as a matter of course.

        I know you mentioned your enlightenment (or whatever the term was, I forget your exact words, I apologize) was gradual and I am sure your contemplation of suicide must have also impacted, but seriously, have you had any discussions with a secular psychologist who specializes in what is now recognised as religious trauma?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Arkenaten

        If it the same or similar stuff then why bother?
        Merely to confirm you are not well?
        So, have you ever had any sessions with a secular psychologist?

        Like

      3. mrsmcmommy Post author

        That’s not a serious question, Ark.
        People don’t ask others on the internet whether they’ve seen a psychologist, just out of curiosity. It’s called a pointed question, and I’m not answering it here.

        I’ve written about psychiatry and psychology. I’ve written about postpartum depression. I’ve told you I’m not on any medication and I’m no longer suicidal.

        That’s all you’re going to get here. 🙂

        Read all the old posts you want! But all you’re getting is a “like” when you ask prying questions to make yourself feel better. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

